The regional brand manager sent the following memo to the national brand manager for Sun-Beem Facial Cleanser.

“We need to institute a huge publicity campaign for the launch of Sun-Beem’s improved formula. Without an enormous media blitz, including television, radio, internet, and magazine ads, potential new customers will not be aware of our product. And previous customers will not be aware that Sun-Beem’s new, non-carcinogenic formula is on the shelves. The best way to combat the negative publicity Sun-Beem’s old formula received is to fight fire with fire, by using the media’s insatiable interest in any new news about Sun-Beem to sell the new formula. This will erase the negative connotations in the minds of former customers, and will ensure that Sun-Beem is once again the best-selling facial cleanser on the market.”

In the memo to the national brand manager for Sun-Beem Facial Cleanser, the regional manager concludes that an increase in their commercial advertisement of the company's new formula would consummately increase their sales on the market. However, the author supports his conclusion with two assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically reduces the persuasiveness of the argument.

First of all, author presumes, without evidence, that the enormous increase in their advertisements in various media for their new formula would increase Sun-Beem's sales. However, this may not be true. perhaps, the customers are fed up with Sun-Beem's products because there may be an abundant of other facial cleansers available in the market for even lower prices compared to Sum-Beem cleansers. It is also possible that because of the increasing hatred for Sun-Beem products made customers to look for other alternatives. If either of these scenarios has merit, then conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, the author claims that medias insatiable interest in any new news about Sun-Beem would erase public's negative connotations on the brand value of Sun-Beem, but this may not be true. perhaps, media might present news about Sun-Beem's new non-carcinogenic formula in a negative way and in turn the sales may become worse. Further, public watching the advertisement on the media may think that the Sun-Beem has gone bankrupt and trying various alternatives for increasing their business. If the above is true, then the argument doesn't hold water.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now relies on unfounded assumptions that render its conclusion unpersuasive at best and specious at worst. Thus, if the author is able to provide additional evidence regarding Sun-Beem's success in introducing new plans for increasing brand value and public's thought of Sun-Beem's new ideas, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation.