The regional brand manager sent the following memo to the national brand manager for Sun-Beem Facial Cleanser.

“We need to institute a huge publicity campaign for the launch of Sun-Beem’s improved formula. Without an enormous media blitz, including television, radio, internet, and magazine ads, potential new customers will not be aware of our product. And previous customers will not be aware that Sun-Beem’s new, non-carcinogenic formula is on the shelves. The best way to combat the negative publicity Sun-Beem’s old formula received is to fight fire with fire, by using the media’s insatiable interest in any new news about Sun-Beem to sell the new formula. This will erase the negative connotations in the minds of former customers, and will ensure that Sun-Beem is once again the best-selling facial cleanser on the market.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

In a memo to the national brand manager of Sun-Beem Facial Cleanser, the regional brand manager concludes that a huge publicity campaign is necessary for the launch of the improved formula. The author comes to this conclusion based on the argument that media publicity will help in gaining new consumers and maintain the existing consumer base. However, the argument is rife with unwarranted assumptions and the author needs to provide evidence for three important assumptions in order to fully evaluate the validity of the recommendation.

First of all, the author assumes that the huge publicity campaign will erase the negative connotations of the old product. It is possible that the former customers are made aware of the carcinogenic formula that might have been present in the older product only due to the campaign. Perhaps, the former customers are infuriated because of the unsafe product sold to them earlier that they had no clue about, and now they want to sue the company for damages. If either of the above situations hold true, the recommendation does not hold water and negatively affects the company. However, if the author is able to provide evidence for the validity of the assumption, then the recommendation can be fruitful for the company.

A second reason that the argument is flawed is due to the assumption that publicity campaign will allow the company to gain new customers. It is possible that the public are already using a competitor's facial cleanser and have no motive to shift to the new Sun-Beem's facial cleanser. It is also possible that the new campaign makes the former customers to shift to another brand due to better features offered in that brand which wouldn't have been known if not for the publicity campaign. The argument could have been much clearer if the author is able to provide concrete evidence that how the publicity campaign will help in attracting new customer base. However, the argument as of now due to unsubstantiated assumption holds no water.

Finally, the author assumes that publicity campaign is the only way of making people aware about the new formula. Perhaps, if the company is offering introductory discounts then the people will get to know about the product on their own without the need of spending hefty amounts of money for the publicity campaign. It is also possible that the former customers recommend the new product to their friends and families due to its higher quality compared to the older version. If either of the above scenarios hold true, the argument holds no water. However, if the author is able to provide evidence that publicity campaign will necessarily make the people aware about the new product then the argument is significantly strengthened.

In conclusion, the argument makes a number of unstated assumptions that seriously undermine its validity. If the regional brand manager is able to provide proper evidence for the aforementioned assumptions then, the proposed recommendation of full fledged publicity campaign can be fully evaluated and adopted successfully.