Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author in this afforementioned passage argues that to enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors. He goes on to say that the grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement. As a support to his argument, he says that Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. For this logic to be applied true, a few questions need to be addressed impartially, some of which are discussed below.

Firstly, we are dealing with a procedure that was started roughly fifteen years again and continue to be in fray even today. Needless to mention, a lot of things are bound to change within this huge timespan; considering we live a highly fast paced world and education being volatile always. It is quite probable that the rigid system of evaluation, which has remained unchanged, has lost it's effectiveness to a great extent. But, that does not necessarily mean that the entire system is deemed to be flawed. It is quite possible that some improvisations and tweaks in the system can bring about unprecedented changes to the institution as a whole. If that is the case, the author's final conclusion would not hold true since a closer look to the problem could solve the issue rather than completely abolishing it.

Secondly, the author takes into account the notion of the potential employers who say that the grades of the student may be inflated which results in wrong judgment of their true potential. Although this may be the case, it has been assumed that grades are the only basis of judgement on the employer's part. The concept of acquiring soft-skills required for solving real life problems and securing jobs, has not been taken intp account. It is quite possible that the authority of Omega university focuses primarily on the academic calibre, imparting mainly textual knowledge to their students. In this scenario, the students, although abrest with theoritical 'text-book knowledge', would seriously lack in skills that job corporations look for. If this example holds true, then the author should consider rethinking on assessing a candidate's ability on the basis of his grades.

Lastly, the students of Omega University have been compared to the students of their counterpart, Alpha University; the ones able to succeed in obtaining jobs. This is the perfect example of comparing two incomparable units. While we are well informed of the problems prevailing in Omega University, we have no data to assess the quality of the sutdents from Alpha Univeristy. It can be quite possible that apart from restricting their students to focus only on education, the Alpha university aims for an all rounder development- ranging from encouraging them to excel in extra-curricular activities, to arraging workshops in order to train them in in-demand skills like coding and so on. This effort shall lead to an all-round development of the students, thus impressing the employers. It is very important to take into account the real picture before jumping into comparisons of the two units.

The statement that "To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors." is flawed to some extent since the author has missed out on few minute intricacies and relied of a bunch of weakened assumptions. Hence, the validity of this statement would demand much more investigation and analysis. A few more evidences would then help us to evaluate the viability of the null hypothesis.