Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha, University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

The author's argument seems quite convincing at first sight but on further reflection reveals that its jam-packed with full of unjustified assumptions with no acceptable evidence.

To begin with, author talks about an evaluation scheme which was implemented in practice 15 years ago needs to be discontinued considering its shortcomings. But ceasing the scheme now, 15 years after its implementation seems to be difficult.

All professors are, but obvious, highly qualified than students who does not stand a single chance to get near the maturity level possessed by professors, although there might be some exceptions. So, the process of students judging professors is not the correct way for the feedback. Further, professors assigning good grades to get better reviews from students seems to be a scandalous way and may not represent the actual worth of students. It may give unfair advantage to low merit students and good, sincere students may be at loss if relative grading is applied.

But, on the other hand, stating that the inflation in grades is a result of above stated scheme may actually not be correct. More number of intelligent, enthusiastic and goal-focused students may have enrolled in recent years. Additionally, author did not specify whether the 30% increment in grades was gradual over the years or was instantaneous from the time of implementation of scheme. A gradual change will notify that more and more good quality students have enrolled over the years and has no connection with the newly applied professor reviewing policy .Therefore, this statement requires a strong supporting evidence from study of students' grade analysis.

Author's statement about potential employers' belief that the grades are inflated and do not reflect student achievement may not be actually true and needs solid evidence as a proof that consists of academic records, soft-skills possessed, co-curricular and extra-curricular activities that a student participates in. The possible reason for less employment from Omega College may be that the skill-set required by industry may have shifted to new origin and these changes are not being reflected into university's academics. Moreover, without mentioning actual statistics and numbers, author's argument on graduates not being able to get a job looks baseless. It might be the case that omega university students are more involved into starting their own ventures like various startups. Or both the universities may be dealing in different domains like science and management and the one which alpha university deals in has a growing market.

In conclusion, author's statement that the new process is degrading student quality and shall be discontinued needs a deep and concise study and cannot be considered to be valid unless a strong technical and statistical evidence supports it.