Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The following appeared in a note from a sedan owner to a friend.

"Of the two top brands of cars introduced in past year, Kia cars are clearly more superior to the competing Alfa cars. Kia cars boast aesthetically pleasing design and a fuel economy of 50 kms per liter. In the past quarter alone, 8000 Kia cars were sold. Alfa cars, on the other hand have received only a few positive reviews regarding their overall performance. I have personally test driven both brands, and I strongly recommend that you buy a Kia car for superior performance at a cost-effective price."

At first the authors argument seems convincing but upon further reflection it reveals that it is rife with holes and some assumptions need to justified before the argument can be considered valid.

Author, the sedan owner, in the note to his friend first talks about the two top brands of cars introduced recently Kia and Alfa cars. The author needs to justify the unstated assumption of on what basis these two brands he is considering to be the top two. Every automobile manufacturer produces cars focusing particular class of society. The higher class demands more luxurious vehicles while the middle and lower class may consider a vehicle primarily for transportation and convenience. So if these two brands fall into same category of automobile manufacturers must be made clear first. Then author talks about the aesthetically pleasing design, but one may find a design aesthetically pleasing to himself that is not to others. Also the fuel economy of 50 Kmpl for a car seems to be an inflated value when actual values are concerned. Also, author has not justified anything about on what road condition or terrain, traffic, acceleration patterns the testing for fuel economy was done. Has he actually got this much millage for himself or is he telling some one else's, needs to be justified.

Furthermore author talks about 8000 Kia cars sold in the past quarter but in what size region remains unstated. 8000 Kia cars sold worldwide may seem insignificant if 8000 Alfa cars are sold in a single state. Also, author hasn't mentioned the sale for Alfa cars. Further, no statement about the customer reviews of Kia cars is mentioned. Just company boasting its products, which is an obvious thing, doesn't mean that it has received positive reviews and the customers are satisfied. The comparison shouldn't be biased.

Further, author also hasn't stated important for comparison things like, millage of Alfa cars, sale of Alfa car. The time and distance for test drive is not mentioned.