The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station. "To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our a rea 6 "

The given paragraph refers to a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station in which the author states that the number of listeners are decreasing because retired people are moving into their listening area. He further also assumes that changing the music format to news and talk format would improve the number of listeners. But, the given argument is rife with holes and cannot be considered true unless supported by a solid evidence from statistics and data analysis. Also, the time when this memorandum was published is not mentioned.

To begin with, author assumes, without any testament, that the decline in the number of listeners is due to more and more number of retired people moving into the listeners’ zone. Author hasn't mentioned any supporting statement for this premise. It is not quite logical to say something like this for many other possible reasons. If the memorandum was promulgated in recent years, one possible reason for the decline can be increased use of more advanced and interactive devices such as smartphones or smart TVs where the user gets to decide whatever and whenever he/ she wants to listen or watch.

The author's assumption goes beyond the evidence presented, it needs support form statistics and survey background. The conclusion about limited interest in music that author has arrived at makes no sense. Just because of decline in local sales of recorded music, one cannot say that the interest in music is limited. There are some alternate reasons possible. For example, the music stores are not properly managed, the kind music available doesn't match with customer choices or as earlier stated, the increased use of smart phones and TVs might be possible. Without considering these possibilities the argument stated becomes even weaker.

Further, author insists on changing current rock-music format to news and talk format. Author also assumes that news and talk format is becoming more popular amongst listeners but has not mentioned anything that would make the argument stronger. Surveys must be conducted to know the audience pole. The results would be even more disappointing if such changes are made without a deep study and analysis.

In conclusion, author's statements lack in strong evidence rendering overall argument to be weak. Particularly, statements about the cause of decline of listeners being retired people and changing the format without any prior study seems to make the argument weaker. To strengthen the argument author should promote conducting a deep and thorough survey to know what is causing the decline and take actions accordingly.