The following memorandum is from the manager of Bagel Mania Bakery.

Recently Bagel Mania replaced sugar with saccharin, a sugar substitute, throughout its bakeries in the Northeast areas of the USA. Contrary to initial expectations, this change did not have an adverse impact on our customer’s preferences. So far, only 10 percent of our customers have grumbled about this change suggesting that an average of 90 customers out 100 have no issues with the use of saccharin in our baked products. Since our customers have not voiced great concern about the use of saccharin instead of sugar, it is evident that we should implement this change in all the branches of Bagel Mania bakeries in rest of the country.

While the argument detailed in the memorandum seems quite convincing at first sight, upon further reflections reveals that more better alternative explanations are possible that could rival the proposed explanations.

The argument talks of Sugar in the the bakery products getting replaced by saccharin and majority of the customers having no issue with it. It mentions that 90% of the customers do not have any problem with this. While this being true, why 10% of the people grumbled over the change is not justified. It might be the case that these 10% people are more aware and health conscious to know the side effects of saccharine consumption. The remaining 90% people might be unaware about these fact. So, why the 10% people are complaining and is there any important issue they are trying to highlight must be sought after.

Moreover, the argument talks of the customers not voicing any great concern over the change from sugar to saccharine made. This dose not mean that, the change will be accepted everywhere. People in the other parts of the county may be well aware of the side effects of saccharine and making this change in other branches as well will cost the bakery huge losses. Therefore, before implementing this change in the other branches as well, the bakery must conduct surveys at its various shops to know better the customer preferences.

In conclusion, the bakery should asses the complaints and problems of the 10% people. And should take the necessary actions if their problems are genuinely related to any side effects that are caused by saccharine. Further, before implementing the change to all the branches, a deep, through, comprehensive statistical survey must be conducted at each outlet branch to know the customer preferences well and prevent the losses that might incur.