The following memorandum is from the manager of Bagel Mania Bakery.

Recently Bagel Mania replaced sugar with saccharin, a sugar substitute, throughout its bakeries in the Northeast areas of the USA. Contrary to initial expectations, this change did not have an adverse impact on our customer’s preferences. So far, only 10 percent of our customers have grumbled about this change suggesting that an average of 90 customers out 100 have no issues with the use of saccharin in our baked products. Since our customers have not voiced great concern about the use of saccharin instead of sugar, it is evident that we should implement this change in all the branches of Bagel Mania bakeries in rest of the country.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In the mentioned memorandum, The manager of the Bagel Mania Bakery claims that they should replace sugar with saccharin, a sugar substitute, throughout its all the branches of Bagel Mania bakeries in rest of the country because they have replaced it in one of their bakeries in the Northeast areas of the USA. Stated in this way, the argument or the claim fails to highlight and answer several key important factors.

Firstly, the assumption made by the manager that this change did not have adverse impact on their customer's preferences is stands without any rigid and mathematical data which will prove the clai. In addition, he claims that only 10 percent customers have grumbled about this change but there might be a possibility that other customers also not in the favour of this change but did not reach out to the bakeries management as we are discussing this claim on the initial phase and there is no mention of time duration when this change is implemented and after how much time this claim is made.

Region of the branch at which this change implemented also plays an important role because, taste of the people varies as we travel and everyone's taste is different and region specific. For example, Tea is a very popular and most sold drink in the Asian countries as compared to the non-asian countries but it is not valid or reasonable to claim on this single claim that tea will be favoured in non-asian countries as well. Time duration of the year also contributes when this claim has been made because generally during the festive or during holidays numbers of customers are much greater in compare to other non-holiday season of the year and thus such claims should be made after overall analysis throughout the year by considering the variable customer numbers visiting the bakery. It is also not reasonal to make such claims without initiating any survey and solely depend on the few customers feedback, as there might be a possibility that others might have same opinion but have not grumbled about the change.

Therefore to conclude this claim, the claim made by manager is unwarranted and lacks reasoning as it is made without answering and considering the important factors such as number of customers, time duration at which this change has been implemented, region specific tastes of the customers. To agree with the managers claim, more rigid reasons, data and evidences are required.