Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their

The author of this passage strongly believes that the major cause of the recent low employment rate of Omega University’s graduates resides in student evaluation of professors which was introduced fifteen years ago. Superficially listing seemingly plausible reasons, the author seems to make a convincing argument; however, on closer inspection, it turns out that this argument is rife with many lacunae of pivotal evidence, thus making it unsubstantiated.

An assumption in this argument is that professors have deliberately given students abnormally high grades for the purpose of avoiding poor evaluation from them. However, it could not be easily asserted that evaluation of students is the only reason for the increase in overall student grade averages at Omega University, since strong and relevant evidence is not yet presented. It is entirely possible that students have studied harder, or that the examinations of the recent years have been easier than the past. In order for the author's claim to prove true, more specific evidence demonstrating that professors had the intention to increase grades, with expectation of favorable evaluation from students.

Second, the author states that potential employers believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement. The readers of this passage would not be convinced of this statement because there is no detailed information regarding this fact. Who are those potential employers? How could the author know the opinion and thought of potential employers? If certain surveys have been conducted for determining the view of several employers, how many employers were surveyed, and what were the questions included the survey? Were there any other opinions about the Omega graduates' low degree of getting jobs? In order to make his claim persuasive, the author should provide more sound information about the mentioned opinion of potential employers.

The lack of evidence is also found in the comparison between Omega graduates and Alpha graduates. The wording "not been as successful" is an absolutely vague expression, thus making this argument uncorroborated. On what criteria is the success in getting jobs assessed? Which is more important value in evaluating a success in getting a job, among high salary and high stability? If the rate of employment of Alpha graduates were higher, while the average salaries of Omega graduates who could get the job were significantly higher than their counterpart, then who are more successful?

Those lacks of crucial evidence lead to the completely unwarranted conclusion that to enable Omega graduates to secure better jobs, the Omega authorities should terminate student evaluation of professors. Without relevant evidence, and without taking account of other possible factors, the writer narrows down the cause of the problem just into the matter of grade. Instead, it would be better for the Omega University authorities to focus on raising quality of education, to improve its facilities like libraries, and to expand chances of getting funding so that the students could concentrate their study and participate more academic activities.