The following appeared in a health magazine published in Corpora."Medical experts say that only one-quarter of Corpora's citizens meet the current standards for adequate physical fitness, even though twenty years ago, one-half of a

The author of this article argues that the deterioration of physical fitness of Corpora's citizens is mostly caused by the recent decline in the economy, not by using computers. While, at first glance, this argument may seem convincing, several critical flaws of the assumptions the writer relies on make it unconvincing.

First, according to the medical experts in Corpora, health conditions of Corpora's citizens have become worse over the past twenty years. This observation is based on the conspicuous decrease in the rate of those with adequate physical fitness. Here, the medical experts assume that the population in Corpora has not significantly changed for twenty years, and the author also accepts this assumption without doubt. However, in all likelihood, Corpora might experience its population growth, and in this case, we cannot know whether the absolute number of people with standard physical fitness have increased or decreased over the twenty years. In some cases, it is possible that one-quarter of current Corpora’s citizens outnumbers one-half of twenty years ago. Then, the health conditions of Corpora are rather improved. Thus, in order to say that the current health conditions of Corpora's citizens have deteriorated, more detailed numeric data need to be presented.

The second assumption on which the author relies is that those who have their own computers spend much more time using computers. Debunking the cause that the medical experts put forward, the author claim that the major cause of the decline in fitness in Corpora is overuse of computers. The fact that people in the regions where rate of having computers is high are reported as healthier seems to demonstrate the author’s claim; however, the correlation between ownership of computers and degree of using computers is very weak. For example, it is entirely possible to have computers just to surf the Internet sometimes or make appointment with a doctor. In these cases, despite of having computers, the actual time to spend using computers may not be substantial; thus, the author needs to provide additional data to logically reject the time of using computers as the major cause.

Lastly, the author concludes that the major cause of recent decline in fitness in Corpora is attributed to the recent recession of the economy, and thus fitness will be improve with the recovery of the economy. Plus, the author mentions the low expenditures on fitness-related products and services of this year as evidence. This conclusion is dependent on the assumption that the degree of expenditure in area of fitness represent the entire economic condition in Corpora. However, only with the low expenditure of fitness-related products and services, we cannot know whether the economy is bad or not. Moreover, even though it is true that the economy is indeed bad, there could be various reasons that people reduce the spend for fitness; for instance, contrary to the suggestion of this article, citizens may not need to spend much money for their fitness because they already become healthy enough.

To sum up, the argument of this article is not convincing in many respects. Above all, it relies too much on flimsy assumptions. To strengthen the argument, the author should add more specific and strong statistics to fill these lacunae.