The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper."Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored propos

The author of this letter to the editor of a local newspaper argues that the addition of a new lane to the Blue Highway would be useless, and that the addition of a bicycle lane would be rather helpful to reduce rush-hour traffic. At first glance, this argument may seem convincing; however, on closer inspection, one can quickly recognize that this letter is rife with unwarranted assumptions, lacking relevant evidence.

First of all, the author disagrees with the favored proposal of the motorists' lobby to widen the highway. This is because, according to the author, the similar actions on the Green Highway was counterproductive, worsening traffic jams on it. However, the author does not present compelling evidence on this claim. What was the major factor of the traffic jams on the Green Highway? Why was there the increase in traffic jams after the addition of a lane to the Green Highway? Is that increase in traffic jams due to the addition of a lane? It could be possible that due to the new construction of factories nearby the Green House and the consequent increase of the number of commuters, the addition of only one lane to the Green Highway might not have been enough. Also, the worsening of traffic jams on the Green Highway may be just a temporary phenomenon due to the increased car accidents on other highways. In other words, unless the author explains the correlation between the addition of a lane to the Green Highway and the worsening of traffic jams on it, the reason the author presented cannot be justified for the disagreement with the favored proposal of the motorists' lobby.

Second, one of the major assumptions the author relies on is that the addition of a bicycle lane to the Blue Highway would be helpful for the reduction of traffic on the highway. However, the author does not take account of the plausibility. Above all, highways are the roads for cars. So, it seems hard to add a bicycle lane to the highway. Is there any risk of accidents between the cars and the bicyclists? Moreover, the author also lack evidence about the current number of bicyclists, especially who are willing to commute through the bicycle. It may be true that the many area residents are keen bicyclists, but it does not necessarily mean that they are also willing to use their bicycles when they commute. They may just ride bicycle only for their health and hobby. If they would not use bicycle for commuting after the addition of a bicycle lane, it would cause more severe traffic jams on the Blue Highway, narrowing the width of the existing lanes. Thus, the author should provide more specific evidence about opinions of residents whether they are willing to use a new bicycle lane or not. It could be an option to conduct a survey research toward residents.

Lastly, the author assumes that the main cause of the current traffic problems on the Blue Highway must be due to the increased number of the cars on the highway. Of course, the commuters claim that the traffic on the Blue Highway increased, but there is virtually no way for commuters to determine exact levels of traffic on the highway. They could just feel that there is an increased traffic on the Blue Highway just because it takes longer for them to commute than usual. It leaves open the possibility that the major cause of the problem is not because of the increased number of cars on the Blue Highway. The increased one may not the cars, but the car accidents hampering the flow of the cars. In such a case, it would be a more effective measure to strengthen traffic education to motorists. On the other hand, if it is true that the number of cars on the Blue Highway increased, widening the highway adding a new traffic lane could be a real solution. Thus, the author needs to examine the exact cause of the recent traffic problem on the Blue Highway, and then present relevant solutions.

To sum up, the claim of the author that the addition of a new car lane to the Blue Highway would cause more severe traffic jams seems not to obtain broad support from the readers. To strengthen his argument, he should provide more specific data about the willingness of residents to use bicycles for commuting and the information about the causes of the recent increased rush-hour traffic on the Blue Highway.