Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most

The author of this memo argues that the upcoming open of a new franchise store of Nature's Way should prove to be successful, because residents who live in Plainsville, the area of the new store, tend to be very interested in healthy life style. While, at first glance, this expectation may seem convincing, the author fails to make a cogent case for the supposed success of the new store, standing on several unsubstantiated assumptions.

First assumption of this argument is that the new franchise would be successful in Plainsville because other regions where residents lead healthy lives like Plainsville have experienced similar successes. However, that might be not going to happen in this region. The author does not take other factors into consideration, which could affect the local business. Even if Plainsville's residents are truly and highly interested in regular exercise and relevant products as the author asserts, they may not be in health food. In such a case, the owner of the new store might not be able to expect such high profits as the stores in other regions earned.

Another assumption the argument relies on is that many residents of Plainsville would necessarily use the Nature's way store for satisfying there healthy lives after opening of the new store. However, as the author already said, Plainsville is the region in which the residents have high interests about their well-being, and there are already a lot of health-related facilities and stores. In this situation, it is hard to imagine that there would be no competition at all. In other words, Plainsville may be a red-ocean in matters of health-related items. If this is true, the new store would face a considerably fierce competition from the established rival stores.

Lastly, the author assumes that the schoolchildren' fitness-for-life program would be big and continue long enough to be profitable. Unfortunately, there is no specific evidence that proves the project's scale. In all likelihood, the project might be just a trial to determine whether such program would be effective to promote and foster children’s healthy life style. Moreover, it could also be possible that the number of children who live in Plainsiville is entirely negligible, so the new store could not see any income from products for children.

If the three major assumptions are determined as false, and so the author fails to make a persuasive case for this argument, it would be better for the plan to open a new store of Nature’s Way franchise in Plainsville to be entirely reconsidered.