The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books."We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a larg

The Board of Directors of Monarch Books recommends to open a cafe in its store. The directors see this new cafe will attract more customers. While it may seem convincing at first glance, the directors fail to make a cogent case of the recommendation. In order to strengthen their recommendation, they need to answer several questions.

First of all, they should answer about whether the decision of replacing the children's book section with the cafe is reasonable. In the basis of given information, it is not clear that the space is enough large for the cafe. It is entirely possible that the space is suitable for a book section, but not for a cafe. Generally, cafes demand larger space than book sections, so there is a high possibility that the plan to make a cafe within the store itself is not viable at all. Moreover, as the directors said, one of the strong points of Monarch Books is its wide selection of books on all subjects. Of course, even if just one section of books disappears, there would be no immediate and visible effect on the store. However, it may not be the optimal decision in the long run, since it would undercut the Monarch's competiveness.

Second, the board also need to answer whether the population under age ten will actually decrease in this region and it has a substantial impact on the book market. The board's expectation regarding the decline of children population is thoroughly based on the recent national census, but it can hardly be considered to be plausible in this region. We do not know the populations proportion in this region, thus it is impossible to precisely predict the future change in the region's demography. It is plausible that numerous young couples reside now in this region, or a lot of families are planning to move into the region. Furthermore, even though the decline in the percentage of the population under age ten would occur indeed, it cannot be simply justified to eliminate the children's book section without the exact data including the proportion of book sales according to the ages.

Lastly, it is also obscure whether a new cafe will attract more customers and allow better compete with Regal Books. It could be possible that Regal Books does not profit at all from its own cafe, thus planning to close the cafe. The cafe itself may be profitable, but it is dubious that the cafe visitors would visit the bookstore too. Even if opening a cafe were surprisingly successful to Regal Books, it does not necessarily guarantee the same success in Monarch. Thus, before opening the cafe, the board should reconsider the recommendation and survey its cafe visitors whether they are interested in using cafe in the bookstore.

To sum up, while there are a lot of lacunae, sound evidence and data should be added to the recommendation.