The following appeared in a recommendation from the planning department of the city of Transopolis."Ten years ago, as part of a comprehensive urban renewal program, the city of Transopolis adapted for industrial use a large area of

The author of this recommendation from the planning department of the city of Transopolis argues that to take another adaptation of a declining residential area for industrial use should be beneficial to further revitalize the city. At first glance, this argument may seem convincing; however, on closer inspection, one can quickly recognize that this recommendation is rife with unwarranted assumptions and lack of necessary evidence for validity of his claim.

First of all, the author assumes that there is close correlation between the renewal of the substandard housing area near the freeway and the improvement in crime rates and the increase in property tax revenues for the entire city. However, there is no relevant evidence presented. To clarify the cause and effect relation between the two, the author should present the detailed information about what kind of crime has been prevalent in this area and what kind of crime decreased recently. The decline of crime rates may be because of the strengthened police forces or because the economy in the city has been improved, not because of the newly built factories. Moreover, we cannot also easily correlate the increase of property tax revenues to the renewal of this area to industrial usage. As mentioned earlier, it is just due to the entire improvement of the economy, not due to the renewal. So, the author needs to provide specific information as to where the increasing property tax revenues come from so that the reader can be convinced of the proposed correlation.

Second, the author also assumes that the conditions of the two area would be similar enough to expect the similar effects of the renewal program. However, as the author says, the previous area is near the freeway. Generally, in areas near the freeway, there aren't so many residents. So it would not have been difficult to displace the residents to other area. However, the proposed area is a residential area, and this area is on the opposite side of the city. In such a case, the city government could have enormous difficulties to move the living residents in this area to neighborhoods. Are the houses and apartments in existing nearby neighborhoods enough to accommodate those displaced? Are those houses and apartments freely offered to those people? Without the answers to these questions, there is little chance for the author to obtain supports.

Lastly, the author's claim and evaluation are thoroughly based upon the comparison to the previous renewal action. However, the author should recognize that the action was taken even ten years ago. This is by no means short period. And, it is hardly to imagine that there have been no changes in circumstances in economy and price. Without taking account of these variables, the result of the same action could be straying from the author's evaluation.

To sum up, in order to strengthen the argument, the author should provide more sound evidence and detailed data and information.