The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

According to the argument, the author concludes that the interview-centric approach to studying cultures is more reliable method in place of Dr. Field observation-method. He further states that his graduate students ongoing research will provide an apt understanding of the child-raising traditions in cultures. The author comes to this conclusion by recently conducting an interview with children living in the group of islands. While the author’s assertion could prove true, as it stands now, the argument relies on three unwarranted assumptions that hinders its credibility.

Firstly, the author assumes that the participants in his interview are representative of the entire children in the area of Tertia, but this might not be the case. Perhaps the author conducted his interview when the children who may understand the author’s questions as well as provide accurate input have gone to school and thus leaving the author with children who are still relatively small to comprehend. In addition, it is possible that the children that was interviewed by author are children who have recently migrated with their parents from low lands to the area of Tertia. If either scenario above proves true, then the author’s argument that the children of Tertia spend more time talking about their biological parents than other adults in the community does not hold water.

Moreover, the author assumes that Dr. Field observation research that was conducted twenty years is still viable and reliable in recent time, but this might not be case. It's possible that the area of Tertia and it environ was invaded by deadly disease or domineering community and thus wiping out the entire habitants of Tertia who were Dr. Field's respondents. Also, there is a probability that while the people of Tertia was conquered in war and a new authority emerged the process of acculturation surfaced and hence, may have impacted both social and psychological wellbeing. If either of this scenario prove true, then the author's argument that Dr. Field's research that was conducted twenty years ago is invalid does not hold water.

Lastly, the author assumes that his graduate students who are currently undergoing a similar research in Tertia will provide a much more accurate understanding of the child-bearing practice in Tertia and other cultures but this might not hold true. It's possible that these graduate student may not employ a scientific approach in their search for an appropriate respondent. For instance, probably because the area of Tertia and other Islands have an unfavorable terrain and topography, graduate students may decide to unprofessionally fill the interview notes or even interview a very small number of children thereby skewing the result and conclusion of the research. It is also possible that these graduate students do not employ the same research or interview indicator as the author. If either of this scenario prove true, then the author's assumption that his graduate students will provide a reliable and valid result does not hold water.

In conclusion, the author's claim that the interview-centred approach in studying cultures is more valid than the observation method is plausible. However, the author needs to justify his assumptions in order to increase the persuasiveness of his conclusion.