The effectiveness of a country's leaders is best measured by examining the well-being of that country's citizens.

According to the United Nations, Economic Growth can be measured using the gross domestic product and national income while Economic Development can be measured using the availability of social infrastructures, affordable education, employment opportunities, good security, etc. However, it is not enough to scale economic growth without adequate increase in the standard of living of its citizen. Hence, true wealth and effectiveness of a country’s leader can be obnoxious in her ability to meet the needs of present without comprising the ability of the future generation. The prompt argues that the effectiveness of a country is best measured by examining the well-being of that country’s citizen. I mostly agree with this prompt for two reasons which I would elucidate below. However, in some extreme cases, I do concede that the effectiveness of a country’s leader should not be measured by examining the well-being of that country’s citizen.

Firstly, democracy is the government of the people, for the people and by the people and for this reason, the effectiveness of a country’s leader could be evident in the well-being of its citizen since the essence of every government and leader is to oversee the affairs of the nation either monetarily, socially, politically. It is pertinent to note that leaders have been appointed at local, state and federal level to not just control the affairs of her people but also develop close-knit relationship in order to determine their pressing needs. For example, every citizen is mandated to pay tax in all countries at one point or the other and thus the revenue generated are primarily to increase the standard of living. If the country’s leader does not deem it appropriate to utilize the tax revenue for the benefit of its citizen, where then is the result to show for it? The United States of America has evolved to a top tier state because of her ability to acquire wealth as well as expend the wealth through the provision of necessary support for her citizens which manifests in the presence of good health care system, standard electricity, good sanitation, employment opportunity, law and order, among others. In addition, while the citizens are at the heart of its leaders, the country could scale its position in the league of nations rank. If the effectiveness of a country’s leader is not measured by the well-being of its citizens, citizens will be reluctant to pay their dues since there is nothing to show for it.

Furthermore, measuring the effectiveness of a country’s leader will put the leader on the radar thereby reducing the rate of malfeasance amongst leaders. Wealthy African countries are characterized by corruption and this ominous act persist because of the inadequacy of the check and balance agents in the country. In the name of sovereignty, many nations have escaped the implication of siphoning public funds for personal gain. He adverse effect of the illicit act is increased migration, brain drain and brain-waste on the path of the country. Researchers portend that when a significant number of adept citizens leave the country on a yearly basis, it is a sign that the citizens are not well served, hence, the activity of the leaders must be checked. Also, a quest to access health facilities and acquire education outside of the country could be an indicator of a leader’s incompetence and neglect of these sectors. Therefore, it is imperative to use the well-being of a country’s citizen as a yardstick for the leader’s effectiveness.

Admittedly, in some extreme cases, the well-being of a citizen shouldn’t be used as a measurement for a country leader’s effectiveness because it could be that the citizens have natural predilection for alternative medicine in the case of healthcare system, the citizens are disinclined to work and the citizens evade tax levy that will be instrument in developing the nation. In conclusion, the well-being of the citizens could be used to measure a country leader’s effectiveness in order to reduce labour migration, encourage payment of tax. Nevertheless, as the case maybe, it may not be used as an indicator since citizens have preferences.