The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

As per the article written by anthropologist Dr. Karp, the interview centered method provides a more accurate understanding of the child rearing traditions in Tertia and other island cultures. This conclusion is based on the recent interview data collected by Dr. Karp and the future data that will be collected by team of grad students using interview based approach. The conclusion of Dr. Karp that observation based approach to study culture is invalid, could be considered true if we get more information regarding following assumptions.

The first assumption made by Dr. Karp is that, the information provided by the children that were interviewed is true. There is a possibility that due to such interview process the children were under pressure and did not give the information about the actual scenario. There is one more possibility that parents of these children might have taught the children to give false information in order to save their honor and respect . If either of this scenario is true then it significantly weakens the author’s argument.

Another assumption made by author is that, the information obtained by author by interviewing few children will hold true for the remaining set of children. It is clearly stated by the author that the data for interview of few children is yet to be evaluated, perhaps there is possibility that the interview taken by Dr. Karp is of the children who were reared by their parents but the remaining children are reared by other adults of the island. Therefore if the additional information obtained by taking interview of remaining children comes opposite then it will unwarrant the argument done by author.

The author has made a clear assumption that observation based approach to study any culture is not correct. Even though there is a disparity between the results of Dr. Field’s experiment and Dr. Karp’s experiment, there is a possibility that the time when Dr. Field conducted the experiment which was twenty years ago, the children might have been raised by other adults of the island rather than their biological parents and the time when Dr. Karp conducted the experiment children are being raised by their parents. If this scenario is true then the author’s conclusion that the observation based approach to study culture does not hold true.

From all the statements it is clear that the conclusion made by author is flawed given the faulty assumptions on the basis of which it is being made. If author provide additional evidence against each of these assumptions then this conclusion can be analyzed further but with the existing assumptions the conclusion made by author is not right.