The following appeared in article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children Tertia were reared by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia shows that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field’s conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the article, Dr. Karp concludes that his research using the interview-centered approach proves the research of Dr. Field’s conclusion about Tertian village culture as invalid and thus, studying cultures using observation-centered approach is invalid as well. Dr. Karp came to this conclusion because his interview with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia shows that the children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about adults in the village. However, while the conclusion drawn by Dr. Karp might hold water, it rests on several unfounded assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument. Thus, the following three assumptions must be addressed.

Firstly, Dr. Karp assumes that the same set of people who were parents in Tertia twenty years ago are still parents at the time of interview. Perhaps, a large population of the village twenty years ago are aged people and many have passed away. It is also possible that the older generations of Tertia village are confined within the land mass of their village and are not exposed to cultures from other surrounding islands or villages, therefore, they can only but remain upon practicing the cultures they are used to. Unlike, the current generation of residence of Tertia village who might have been influenced by their exposure to technological advancement and their surrounding cultures, thereby causing them to deviate from their old cultural practices. If either of these scenarios proves true, then the assertion of Dr. Karp is significantly hampered.

Furthermore, Dr. Karp presumes that children speaking about that parents is a direct indication that the children were reared by their biological parents. Perhaps the children were reared as toddlers by another person and they have only recently returned back to their parents after they reach certain age. It also a possibility that the children only came to stay with their parents for vacation at the time Dr. Karp conducted his interview. The vacation could be a reason why the children talk so much about their parents, hoping to cherish all the moments they would be spending together before they depart again. If the above is the case, then Dr. Karp should rather conduct interviews for parents where he could get verified details on whether or not they are the ones who reared their biological children.

Lastly, Dr. Karp holds as a fact that the interview-centered method that his team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures. Perhaps some of the graduate students are too lazy to go through the rigorous stress of conducting interview throughout the islands. They may end up coming up with ‘bogus’ results just to fill up missing data. It is also possible that the children being interviewed are not giving the correct information about who reared them because it may be a ‘thing’ considered shameful not being reared by one’s biological parents. If the above cases are true, then it is very unlikely that Dr. Karp gets a more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions.

In conclusion, it is possible that the interview-centered approach used by Dr. Karp gives a more accurate result, however, it is necessary that Dr. Karp provides additional evidence indicating that the group of people observed by Dr. Field have the same ‘mentality’ and mindset about child-rearing, that children speaking about their parents essentially translates to them being reared by those parents and that the children interviewed would not rather give a false response when being asked about those who reared them.