The following appeared in the summary of a study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia.

"Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study. Recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the summary of the study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia, the author concludes that the use of salicylates as flavor additives for foods is expected to lead to a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia. The author came to this conclusion because he assumes that salicylates, a member of the same chemical family as aspirin can treat headaches just like aspirin. However, while the conclusion drawn by the author might hold water, it rests on several unfounded assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically weaken the effectiveness of the argument. Thus, the following three assumptions must be addressed.

Firstly, the author assumes that salicylates which are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, can serve as medicine to cure headaches just like aspirin. Perhaps, salicylates although being same chemical family as aspirin, contain other component element which only contribute to the severity of the headache, rather than mitigate it. It is also possible that the component element(s) in aspirin which cures headache exist in minute proportion in salicylates and thereby, not sufficient to cure headache. If either of the above scenarios proves true, then the assertion made by the author is significantly hampered.

Furthermore, the author assumes that all the participants in the twenty-year study have been taking foods containing salicylates and thereby directly correlate with the decline in the number of reported headaches. Possibly, a large number of participants of the study preferred home-made and therefore, do not necessarily need to take foods containing preservatives. Perhaps, the participants of the study do not have access to purchasing food containing salicylates as preservatives. If the above is the case, the author should rather make further studies to get data on the type of food the participants of the study eat. This is to help establish whether the food containing salicylates as preservatives has a correlation with the decline in the headache.

Lastly, the author assumes that salicylates existing as flavor additives for food, would have the same effect as when it is existing in its natural state to cure headache. Perhaps, salicylates can only be used as flavor additives for food in gaseous or liquid state. In which case, change of state could result to a reduction or non-existence of its effectiveness as a cure to headache. It is also possible that only a small quantity of salicylates is needed as flavor additives for food which may not be sufficient to cure headache. If the above are true, then, it is very unlikely that there would be decline in the number of headaches suffered by the people of Mentia.

In conclusion, it is possible that salicylates may cure headache as assumed by the author, however, it is necessary that the author provides additional evidences indicating that salicylates can cure headache as effective as aspirin, that the participants of his study were eating food containing salicylates over the cause of the study period and that salicylates as flavor additive could be as effective as it would be in its natural state.