The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his

observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents.

However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these

children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This

research of mine proves that Dr. Field’s conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the

observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my

team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of childrearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how

the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Dr. Field's findings, which suggest by mere observations that children were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parent, could have been more compelling if it was based on a thorough analysis, and followed a more rigorous research protocol. Indde, there are numerous factors that can explained cultural bihaviors. And each of those may carry different weight of importance that deserve to be taken into consideration when carring a research aming at understanding social attitudes. As Dr. Field was trying to understand cultural behaviors which are difficult to measure by mere observations, his study would have benefited more from an empirical research method that underscore impact evalutation technics.

Additionnaly, there is no indication that the group of children observed by Dr. Field strongly representative of the entire village. Stiil, even if that group of children was representative of the population of the village being studied, using rigorous methods of research that are based on experiments and impact evaluation, which are known to assess population under treatement and under control, are proved by science to be the best compelling approach to anwswer difficult research

questions.

Evidently, Dr. Field's finings have been porved to be biased as demonstrated by an inteviews of the subject of his study. Although the interview-centrered approach was sufficient to highlight the flaws in Dr. Field's approach, it is not a panacea in conducing research that aims to anwser this kind of research question. Indeed, the interview-centered also has its flaws, which consist espacially of the lack the empircal evidence on the existance of causal effect between the way people from the village behave and the question that is being anwsered.

Both approaches would have been academically digestable if they had included rigorous impact evalutation methods analysis of the subject being studied with strong statiscal evidence of their cases. However, the inteview-centered approach is better than the mere observational approach used by Dr. Field in anwering that kind of research question.