The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or

scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your

reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which

the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

According to the statement, the most effective measure a nation's greatness may not be capured through the breaktrough

or the actions of its stakeholders or scientists, yet it views people's welfare as a strong indicator to gauge a nation's

greatness. In general, economic theories suggest that the basic indicator which translates the general level of economic

welfare and living standards in a country is the Gross Domestic Product (GDP) per capita. Thus, general welfare of people

in a nation is evidently the best way to represent the greatness of a nation.

A nation is primarily great through how it values and promotes its people's economic success and welfare gain. The

elements of economic success and welfare, whihc are the core components of the GDP per capita, demonstrate the general

level of wealth and economic prosperity accumulated in a nation on average per habitant. The World Bank and numerous

other international institutions as well as economists in academia postit the GDP per capita as a strong indicator of

the general level of people's welfare and living standards in a nation, where the GDP itslelf is accepted as the

fundamental indicator of a country's greatness in term of economic performance.

Notwithstanding, the stakeholders, leaders, artists, entrepreneurs, and scientists, definitely play a crucial rule in

acheiving the economic success, which leads to economic welfare and income distribution. The rule of those key actors

is vital in the sens that it enables the developement of innovation and technology, which are the vital incredients for

the today's technology driven economies. Albeit at macroeconomic level it is very difficult to generaly and strongly

credit those actors' remarquable breakthrough for the greatness of a whole nation.

Indeed, a nation may just be great essentially because it has substential natural resource endowment and make good use of them by valuing human developement, education, good healthcare, and social services. Nations such as Dubai, Emirat Arab United, and Quatar, did not necessarily rely on the work of their artists or scientists before acheivement their indisputable level of greatness as nations. Some of those nations, such as Quatar and Dubai for instance, derived an incredible benefit from their natural resource endowment in such a way that has allowed them to invest part of their revenues in stocks, real estates, businesses, and sport in Europe, Australia, and other countries, expanding their strategic and economic influence accross the globe.

Although relying on the acheivements of great rulers, artists, and scientists may offer a critical competetitive advantage,

this does not represent a necessary condition for a nation to be great. The peformance of the whole economy viewed through macroeconomic aggregates (such as GDP per capita) are the most important indicators to gauge a nation's greatness, espacially because they capure the downstream effects and contributions of all the components of the economy (such as the rulers, artiists, and scientists).