Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and

environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they

operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your

reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the

views presented

Any organized civilization relies on a healthy environnement where it can evolve and grow. In the today's free market driven economies it is difficult for most countries to strongly promote economic without on regard to the evironnemental counstraint and hold companies accountable for the domanages they might be causing the environnement. While some support a strong strong responsabilities from companies to contribute to protect the enivironnement, others share a more extreme capatalistic and rather favor companies' interest over the environnement.

It is true that for an economy to grow and provide opportunities for most people, it has to rely on successful companies that contribute strongly to the economic growth through employement, and the goods and services their offer to the economy. Thus, if companies are able to grow and expand their activities, they are able to hire more people, pay more taxes, and contribute even futher more to the prosperity of the economy. Companies can only be successful if they are profitable and then can afford to invest in research and development in order for to continue to increase their contribution to the economy. However, if companies activities are detrimental to the environnement they are operating in, this might be not be totally innocuous to the economic growth and people's prosperity.

Indeed, as a healthy environnement is more likely to provide more opportinities for companies and for everyone, companies cannot ignore the environnemental concerns pertaining to their activites. If the evironnement they are operating is not healthy, and does not enable people to grow and interact with the companies, the companies themselves will shut down and this will be domaging for everyone.

As science has established that the global warming the caused by the human activites, and that humanity only has few years to reverse course before it is too, late companies have to relize that everyone should be concern about the well-being of the environnement and make sure that their activites do not hinder the furtur's generation sustainabilities.

In summary, although companies need to be profitable in order for them to contribute to the economical prosperity, they also need to promote the well-being the environnement they oparate in because as science has proven that if we do not take action to protect the envionnement, we will be harming not only our current environnement we live in, but also preventing furture generation from having the opportonuty to live in a healthy envionnement.