The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video rental stores.“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten

video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to

improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by

closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than

five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great

movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be addressed in order to decide whether

implementing the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result and explain how the answers to those

questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The memorendum's recommandation suggest a reduction in expenses at Movies Galore's ten video rental store in oder forthe Movies Galore company to continue to be profitable. The main reseaon for this suggestion is based on the fact that similar reduction in operating expenses has been proven to be healthy for the companies profitabily in the Marston store. However, the fatal flaw of this memorendum is that it does not present a congent case that highlight the similarity in terms of the envionnemental carateristic, purshaing power, customer prefarence, and other incentive between the the Marston store and the other nine store in which they intend to expand the same policy.

Although the policy of reducing is proven to be successful in the Marston store, it might not be easily application in the other nine store unless all the ten store are operating in similar environnement where they are subject to the same enabling factors such as compatition, the custumer bargaining power, customers' preference, the purshasing power, and any other factor that have sgnificant bearing on the ability of the stores to operate. Thus, this memorendum find its weakness

in the fact that it does not provide any information of comparision about those factors of influence.

Moreover, even though reducing operating expenses is the only best approach to save the Movies Galore's from going bankrupt, this policy can take numerous forms. By suggesting that because the Marston store was able to regain profitabily as a result of closing ealier than before, and that this has to be applied to the other nine stores, this does not again take into account the specifity of the other nine stores. Maybe some of the other nine stores have more custumers after 6:0 PM than the Marston store. And then, applying the same policy everywhere else will further harm the the Movies Galore's profit and will not solve the problem. Maybe, they just need to reduce their cost else.

As the memorendum does not present enough information about the specifity of the ten store, applying this recommandation may not be effective as the stores might be different to each other.