The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation- centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures. "

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

According to the observation, the author concluded that the findings of Dr. Field is invalid and the interview-centered method is more accurate. The author had come to these conclusions based on the recent interviews with children living in the group of islands. However, the author had come to this conclusion based on several unfounded assumption which need to be substantiated with more information.

First of all, the researches of Dr. Karp were in the group of islands. While Dr. Field had a research only in the island of Tertia. It is possible that people of Tertia are a small proportion of the children that Dr. Karp interviewed and most of the other children who live in different islands reared by their biological parents rather than the entire village. So we cannot conclude that the researches of Dr. Field are flawed. We need more information about islands other than Tertia in order to evaluate the argument.

Moreover, the article introduce Dr. Field as a noted anthropologist, but did not provide any information about Dr. Karp. We cannot count on the information provided by a unknown anthropologist. It is possible that Dr. Kapr made a mistake in collecting information and used a wrong method to interview with children. And if the methods were wrong, we cannot trust on veracity of the conclusion. We need more information about Dr. Karp and his professional activities to trust his outcomes.

Finally, Dr. Karp noted that the interview-centered method was used by the team of graduate students. We cannot trust on the information provided by students at all. The author did not provide any information about the students. Maybe they are not well- experienced in interviewing or they made a mistake in collecting information and provide wrong report. So, we need more information to find out that whether the graduate students had enough experience to provide valid reports or not.

To be brief, the argument is based on several unfounded assumptions. We need more information about the other islands, professional activities of Dr. Karp and the experience of his team which are graduate students. If the author provide these information, we can fully evaluate the argument.