The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

According to the argument, the manager concluded that they should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its previous level in order to attract more viewer. The manager had come to this conclusion based on the viewers complaints and the cancelling of the advertising contracts. The argument seems convincing at the first sight. However, the argument is based on several unfounded assumptions. A stand can be taken only after careful examination of the questions to be answered by the argument.

First of all , the manager referred to the recent complaints from the viewers were concerned with the coverage of the weather and local news. The manager did not provide more information about the amount of the complaints. Maybe there are only small number of viewers who complaint or only people from a specific group are not satisfied with new program. For example, it is possible that only old viewers have the most complaint whereas the major viewers of the TV station are young people. If this is a case, the persuasiveness of the argument are weaken.

Moreover, the manager make the conclusion based on the cancellation of the advertising contract but did not mention the reason of that act. It is possible that the main reason that the businesses cancel their contracts is that the quality of the programs dropped. Or maybe they cancelled their contracts because of the shift in the focus group of the viewers. For instance, it is possible that the viewers of the weather and local news were mainly the old people and because of the changing in the program TV station have more focus on their young viewers. So the businesses who focused on the old viewers cancelled their contracts and other businesses keep their contracts.

Finally, it is possible that the main reason of losing viewers is the quality of the national news. Maybe people really enjoy in watching national news but because of the lower quality compare with local news they are reluctant to view new program. Or even it is possible that there are new TV station which provide better programs about national news and viewers prefer to watch the other TV channel . So we need more information to fully evaluate the argument.

To sum it up, the argument is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several weak assumption. we need more information about the number of the complaints, the quality of the programs and the focus group of the program to be able to fully evaluate the statement.