The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the prompt, Dr. Karp tries adjure the fact that children is Tertia island are reared by the parents and not by the elders of the village, he tried to prove his theory by inertviewing the people of the village, he inturn also concludes that obeservation based approach for study of such topics is invalid. He tries to establish the facts by comparing hist study to a twenty year old study. Though the following unstated assumptions if proved may weaken the arugements of the author.

The present study being done and the study done now are twenty years apart, and a lot can happen in twenty years. It may be that twenty years ago the children of the island were reared by the entire village and due to certain incidents the tradation has changed : maybe in the past some children being raised by the village elders were shunned as tabboo or evil spirits and discared, making the parents furious and not following the tradition anymore. So, the previous study cannot be disproved without knowing the correct facts. The present study is the averagre of the islands, it maybe that Tertia has a very small population and the answers of the people from it were overshadowed by bigger populated islands, so a clear picture cannot be drawn whether children are still reared by the village people or only the parents. Which again isn't sufficient to prove that the previous sutdy was fallacious.

If a certain fact is disproved, it is not sufficient enough to conclude that the method used for that study is also redudant. Similiarly, it cannot be stated by Dr. Karp that observation center apporach is invalid, for instance, Dr. Field may have observed the incorrect village thinking it was Tertian and concluded his study or maybe he didn't observe the village for the right amount of time and left early making his colclusions imcomplete. This only makes the study fallacious not the method of study. Dr. Karp says that interview centred method can be more affective, but it can also backfire, if the people interviewing cannot be communicated with, generally people from remote islands do not know the language they are interviewd in. It can be the same case in the group of islands, making his current reseach findings questionable.

For the following assumptions the unstated asuumption, if proved correct severly weaken the claims of the author making the arguement fall flat. So, it cannot be conclued that the study of Dr. Field twenty years ago is completely incorrect, maybe it is not completely accurate but it surely has some merit.