The following appeared in an Avia Airlines departmental memorandum.

"On average, 9 out of every 1,000 passengers who traveled on Avia Airlines last year filed a complaint about our baggage-handling procedures. This means that although some 1 percent of our passengers were unhappy with those procedures, the overwhelming majority were quite satisfied with them; thus it would appear that a review of the procedures is not important to our goal of maintaining or increasing the number of Avia's passengers."

The author of the argument claims that review of the procedure of the airline is not necessary for maintaining or increasing their goal. To support his claim, the author provides the evidence that only 1% passenger is unhappy with their airline as these passengers complains about their baggage handling. Although the argument has some merits, because of weak assumption, lack of evidence and vague language makes the argument unsubstantiated and deeply flawed. A few flaws are as follows.

To begin with, the author claims that airline is doing fairly good in customer service as only 1% complain is received. This assumption is deeply flawed. The author has not mentioned the actual passenger numbers, who use the airline. If 1 million of passenger have used the airline in last year, then 1% of 1 million will be a huge number. Therefore, making conclusion just by looking at the percentage figure is deeply flawed.

Secondly, the author presents the complaint of baggage handling only to support his argument. The author has not mentioned anything whether other complaints are available or not. If there are other complaints which may be 20% of their passenger, then the author's argument is weak. Without getting any definite information about other complaints, it is hard to believe the argument.

Lastly, the author claims that as the complaint number is very low, therefore the review of their procedure is not required. However, author fails to predict the consequence of this ignorance. Even though the complaint numbers are low, these unsatisfied customer may lead to more harm in getting future passenger. For example, Maruti motors, last year, ignore the complaint of dissatisfied customer, which was just 0.05% of their volume, but these passenger create bad review of the product in social media, and that lead to sales decrease in this current year.

The argument, as written, is categorically unconvincing; but the argument can be made stronger if author provide few statistical data like actual passenger numbers, data on other complaints if present. Without these information, the argument is less persuasive.

To conclude, although the author has presented an interesting argument, but deeply flawed. However, had the author provided the data as mentioned above, the argument could have been made stronger. Otherwise, without the required data the argument is unconvincing and has no legs to stand.