The following appeared in the editorial section of a newspaper: “As public concern over drug abuse has increased, authorities have become more vigilant in their efforts to prevent illegal drugs from entering the country. Many drug traffickers have consequently switched from marijuana, which is bulky, or heroin, which has a market too small to justify the risk of severe punishment, to cocaine. Thus enforcement efforts have ironically resulted in an observed increase in the illegal use of cocaine.”

Discuss how well reasoned . . . etc.

Though it might seem at first glance that the author has good reasons to suggest that increased control over the illegal drug import to the country has increased the cocaine usage, a closer examination of the arguments presented reveal number of examples of leap of faith, poor-reasoning and ill-defined terminology. In order to sound more convincing, the author has to provide valid evidences proving the correlation between the illegal drug control and cocaine usage.

First, the argument is rooted on the assumption that, among the other illegal drugs, cocaine is less bulky, has bigger market, therefore easier to sell and make profit. However, there is nothing mentioned regarding to how easy is cocaine to market or the actual number statistics about the sales price, the market size and fine amount for the seller.

Second, the argument could have been much clearer if the author avoided using the vague phases such as "bulky", "too small market" or "severe punishment". These phrases are too general and do not provide clear explanation of what is bulkiness in drug industry, what does the author actually mean by "too small market" and how rough is the "severe punishment".

To make the argument more persuasive the author have to provide clear evidences about the illegal drug market, and preference rates of the drugs separately. In addition, he must present the statistics of the actual illegal drug market in figures, such as the turnovers, sales prices, legal fines and others. Although an effort was made to make this very argument, lack of information weakened rather than strengthening the argument. Without the supporting information the argument remains unsubstantiated and open to debate.