The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"The population on Balmer Island increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island plans to limit the number of mopeds rented by each of the island's six moped rental companies from 50 per day to 30 per day during the summer season. Last year, the neighboring island of Torseau enforced similar limits on moped rentals and saw a 50 percent reduction in moped accidents. We predict that putting these limits into effect on Balmer Island will result in the same reduction in moped accidents."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author of the letter contends that due to increase in the population of Balmer island in summer, there is a need to reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians. The solution that the council has come up with is based on the policy that was successful in the neighboring island. Based on its success in the other part, the council asserts that implementation of similar policy in their island will work effectively and they can achieve their target. However, this contention is based on premises which are weak and can be falsified. The assumptions taken here by the author are neglecting the various aspects and perspective and without dwelling deeper into these sides, it will be foolish to make this claim.

Firstly, the author has mentioned that there is an increase in population in the summer, but the number of accidents taken into account is not given with sufficient information .For instance if the data enumerating the count of accidents is for the entire year then limiting any number of renting mopends cannot guarantee the success in reducing the moped and pedestrians accidents.

Moreover, there is a plausible probability that during summers, most of the population would not prefer travelling on a two wheeler or is not likely to choose walking as a mode to commute. The scorching heat will compel the crowd to shift towards an air conditioned car or a jeep. Limiting mopeds during summer season will be futile with unwanted problems created for the locals.

Secondly, the council should take into consideration the ratio of population to area, before drawing an analogy to a neighboring town. The 50 percent rate of reduction can be due to its geographic and demographic factors and hence can likely to vary. If the population density os Torseau is high and other factors like the the roads and footpaths are not well constructed, then decreasing the moped limit per person could have been of great help. But, if there is good road infrastructure even in the conjusted areas of core city, people are following traffic rules, footpaths are highly maintained, also the population density is low. Then the city council's efforts in implementing the plan suggested will be in vain and the issue will still persist.

Moreover, trying to understand the nature of the problem and the factors causing it would be of great help to come to a conclusion that adopting a solution implemented by the neighboring town can help to mitigate the issue one year back. The proper understanding of the reasons behind the issue is lacking which leave the argument as indefensible to the attacks. Also the argument lacks various other data including the parameters on which Torseau has based its solution. Considering all these mentioned points the argument is not co