The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a Batavia newspaper.

"The department of agriculture in Batavia reports that the number of dairy farms throughout the country is now 25 percent greater than it was 10 years ago. During this same time period, however, the price of milk at the local Excello Food Market has increased from $1.50 to over $3.00 per gallon. To prevent farmers from continuing to receive excessive profits on an apparently increased supply of milk, the Batavia government should begin to regulate retail milk prices. Such regulation is necessary to ensure fair prices for consumers."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author concludes that regulation of the retail milk prices would make a fair market for the customers. That is because the sellers won’t be able to sell overpriced milk anymore. In a provincial aspect, this may seem fair but to make a compelling case for the government, the author must provide shreds of evidence for three unwarranted assumptions.

First of all, the author is showing appropriate concern about consumers but farmer’s side should also be taken on account. The farmers have to pay for the nurturing of the cows, the maintainance of the farm and so on. These costs are rising day by day with the money inflation. So regulating a fixed price is providing a limit to these costs too. As a result farmers may face possible losses which may lead to possible decrease in the dairy farms and that can hinder the growth of dairy industry in Batavia in future.

Secondly, a fixed market price means there will be no market competition among the dairy farms which can result in bad product quality. When there exists an open market, sellers have to vie among them to ensure they get the highest profit and for that they have to be concerned about product quality because no one will buy bad quality products with a high price. Possible increase in dairy farms in Batavia is a sign that demands of dairy milk has considerably increased. In that case, a fixed price may not encourage the farmers to maintain perfect quality every time which may lead to adulteration of milk. Anyway a less competitive market can become a cause of possible quality fall in dairy industries in Batavia.

Lastly, a fixed retail price may circumscribe new entrepreneurships as it doesn’t provide enough freedom to the seller. So new products may not come in the near future in the dairy industries of Batavia which can discourage new customers.

In a nutshell, the author’s suggestion to Batavia government can be fruitful if they can be always updated with the retail price considering increase in the monetary value, inspecting product quality in a regular basis