In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In the modern competitive world, businesses can thrive in the market only by being unique. So, they always try to enforce that products they are bringing, are somewhat exclusive so that attention can be drawn to them. Undoubtedly it works well but at the same time it creates misunderstanding among the customers. Therefore, I believe that it is a negative development overall.

To commence with, there are varieties of products with good quality exist in the market which do not get consumer attention due to lack of marketing. People rely on commercials and advertisements to be acquainted with a product and that actually creates the need for promoting products with as much positivity as possible which includes showing the bright sides of the products, the benefits and lucrative parts of it. But the concern is, “ Are they being honest all the time with their claims?” That makes us think the possible outcome of these kind of publicity stunts.

It is considered by many that the unhealthy competition of manipulating consumers with exaggerated claims can lead to customer deception. People tend to buy products seeing these claims and spend their money uselessly. Often there are cases when they are misled by the manufacturer which in turns can cause health hazards. For example, every juice company now claims purity of their juices but in reality few of them use real fruit pulp to make them. These kind of incidents not only deceive customers but also bring numerous health conditions with them. Therefore, experts are trying to warn everyone about trusting the product claims.

To conclude, in this modern world where every business should be transparent about their goods, they are rather adopting another path to increase the sales. This is certainly not a good practice considering the negative impacts it can have on mass people. Moreover, I think it’s the consumer’s right to know what they are buying with their hard earned money. So current business promotion system is not a positive development at all.