The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend. "Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the argument, the author recommends that Adams Realty should be preferred for selling real estates at a good price and short time. The author comes to this conclusion based on several pieces of evidence such as customer review, yearly sales ,employee numbers which,if correct,could indicate that the argument holds water. However, as it stands now the suggestion from the author relies on three unwarranted assumptions that diminish the credibility of the recommendation./ With a series of unwarranted assumption, however, the argument fails to be entirely convincing as it stands

To embark, the author suggests that number of employees is greater in Adams Realty which is a reason Adams’ is superior to Fitch. However, this evidence relies on the assumption that the more people working in a real estate firm, the better its service is. Although it is entirely possible, the author offers no evidence to substantiate the crucial assumption. It is highly likely that Adams need to hire more estate agents because Adams’ estate agents’ efficiency is lower than Fitch’s, or the Fitch’s employees are more professional than Adams’s. If either of the scenarios turns out to be true, the arguer’s reasoning will be disproved.

Another weakness in the argument is the arguer assumes that Adams and Fitch sell the same kind of house so that their revenue is comparable. Nevertheless, there is no guarantee that it is necessarily the case, and the arguer does not supply any evidence to confirm the assumption. It is quite possible that Adams mainly sells large houses while Fitch sells small house mostly, so Fitch earn less money by selling each house; in this case, the total revenue cannot stand for ability of selling house of each company. If the possibilities is true, the arguer’s assumption will be weakened.

One more spurious claim is / Even if the evidence turns out to support the foregoing assumptions, the author just simply assumes that there are no changes in the past ten years so that the time two companies used to sell house is comparable, and neither any conclusive scientific evidence nor any anecdotal one is provided to affirm the assumption. It is of equal probability that Adams uses less time to sell the house last years because the economic condition is better last year than ten years ago. An appropriate example is not far to seek. With the development of society, people earn more money now than ten years ago and they are more willing to spend more money to buy house in order to lead a better live; consequently, it is much easier to sell house now . Without accounting for and ruling out these and other alternative explanation, the author cannot bolster the conclusion.

To sum up, there are many doubtful assumptions and unsound evidence that need to be addressed. In order to draw a better conclusion, the author should cite some more persuasive evidence and take every possible consideration into account.