The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper.

"Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. But last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. A better alternative is to add a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, and so would reduce rush-hour traffic rather than fostering an increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The following argument is flawed for numberous reasons. Primarily, the argument is based on unwarranted assumptions that many residents using the blue highway really enjoy bicycling and creating a bicycle lane to blue highway would exhort the resident to start using bicycles as a means of transportation which in turn reduces the traffic on blue highway, rendering its main conclusion that adding a bicycle lane to the blue highway to help alleviate highway traffic issues instead of creating another lane on the to blue highway invalid. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, three questions must be answered.

The argument fails to provide any justification that addition of a lane on Green Highway still brings about a worsened traffic jam, the traffic jam was stated to have happened last year. For one, it could be that a minor or ghastly accident occured on the the days they recorded high traffic jams on the Green Highway which would have prevented commuters from moving freely. Perhaps the Green Highway could run through

residential neighborhoods, or populated environments where commuters have to be careful moving on the Green highway so as to prevent ramming into someone or something. Had the argumeent provided information

regarding the rate at which the worsened traffic still occurs, if it still occurs till date, or where the Green Highway is located, either in a residential or highly populated or less dense area, it would have been easy to concede that adding a bicycle lane to the Blue highway would be more beneficial to alleviate the high traffic jam on Blue highway rather than the intended additional lane.

The argument also leaves many other unanswered questions such as how safe would the added bicycle lane on the

Blue Highway be? Would it be accident free? The opponent in the argument prematurely assumes that when an bicylcle lane is being added to the Blue Highway, it reduces the high traffic jam in the Blue Highway without considering the the accident rate, the rate at moving cars ram into themselves on the Blue Highway or the

way moving vehicles ram would ram into the added bicycle lane which leads to an uneasy flow of vehicles or bicycles on the Blue Highway. Had the argument provided information regarding the safety of the Blue Highway and the added bicycle lane, stating how the added railway is being constructed that prevents moving cars and bicycles from ramming into themselves, it would bolster the claim that adding a bicycle lane to the Blue Highway would help ease the high traffic jam on the Blue Highway.

Finally, the argument claims without warrant that because many area resident enjoy bicycling, the invention of a bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles as a means of transportation and also readuce the amount of vehicles on the Blue Highway that causes high traffic jam. The argument is still lacking because it fails to provide any information about the residents proximity to their place of work. Information was not provided regarding how close the residents place of work is close to the Blue Highway and to their shelter. It would be very straineous for someone to bicycle a journey he could do in 20 minutes with his

vehicle, he turns out be completing the journey for one hour. On getting to the work place, one would be very tired and might be irritating people as a result of sweat coming out of the body or might just be completely drenched in rain while bicycling to the place of work. The argument needs to provide information

about the residents proximity to their place to support the claim that the resident would switch to bicycle because of their profound love for bicycle.

Because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make a convicing case that adding a bicycle lane to Blue Highway would reduce the high traffic jam and also exhort people to start using bicycles to commute because of their love for bicycles. If the author is able to answer the th