The following is a memorandum from the bussiness manager of a television station.

"Over the past year our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to local news and weather news. During this period most of the complaints recieved from the veiwers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local bussiness that used to asdvertise during our late-night program with us has cancelled thier advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid loosing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level"

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The prompt suggest there should more coverage of the weather and local news in contrast to the coverage of the national news. The prompt fails to answer some questions, which if not answered will definitely make the assumption hold no water. If the prompt can considerably provide answers to some litany questions being asked then might be justifiable.

Firstly, the prompt solely blames the loss of thier advertising contracts on the less coverage of the weather and local news but they gave no answers to if they have much resources to put out those kind of news, or is thier resources only circumscribed towards only national new? The memorandum also fails to tell us where the statistics was gotten from indicating what is the percentage of the viewers who complained about the local and weather news to general people who view the program. Are the statistics in correspondence and substainable to the total viewers? Or it just represent a certain fraction of discontented viewers? I feel an aswer to this has to be given in other to first accept the assumption.

Secondly, the manager talked about attarcting more viewers to program it has to increase the coverage of the program, but it also fails to tell us if the viewers actually really care about such news or its just thier assumption. It fails to tell us what the viewers actually really enjoy from the late night program, rather just gave us a generic assumption and conclusion towards that.

Lastly, it talks about the increase in revenue from the advertising outlet tantamount to the increase coverage of the local and weather news , on what basis is that? We can just term this a mere assumptionn with no justifiable fact towards it, we don't know if the advertising outlet are discontented towards the way thier product is being advertised by thier services, we cant really say! The bussiness manager has to do some emperical analysis and come with a more convincing fact.

In conclusion, the argument is greatly flawed because it relies on several unwarranted assumption which can belie the real reason towards the less advertising revenue or less viewers. If the prompt can give a more solid evidence (preferrably in a form of systemic research), then we might be able to validate the claim of the argument.