The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper.

"Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. But last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. A better alternative is to add a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, and so would reduce rush-hour traffic rather than fostering an increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

This is the 21st century where mostly each and every individual of the family works. Some work to maintain a decent living some work for self independence. The most important part of work is going to the place for working and that is why commuting time matters. To control the traffic problem some may suggesrt to increase the lanes but that will only result in mor congestion.

Increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city centre has increased the commuting time by twice in as mentioned. There can be numerous reasons for this increased traffic. The number of people working is raising on day to day basis causing traffic to increase. Adding a new lane may reduce the traffic initially but in the end it worsens the traffic.

As mentioned bicycle lane may cause reduction in congestion but that will also not help in the long run. This solution is not practical. Not everyone is comfotabel in going to work on bicycle. There can be so many things that a person may carry to work making it very difficult to ride a bicycle. During rainy days it will be much worse than going in 4 wheelers to prevent getting wet in rain.

Here it is mentioned that many area residents are keen bicyclists. Mny does not mean everyone. Not everyone is keen on riding a bike especially for going to work. The word keen here is not solidifying the commitment as a person may not be necessarily going to work on bicycle even if he or she is keen bicyclist. Another statement mentioned is a bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, and so would reduce rush-hour traffic rather than fostering an increase. This may be true to some extant but not completely.

The bicycle may occupy less area but there is a risk of accidents. As a bicycle takes less space people tend to take shortcuts or try to wedge from smaller spaces to reach quickly to their destinations which may result in accidents. Adding bicycle lane may not necessrily reduce the traffic. There can be other reasons for the rush hour traffic. The timing of most of the offices is same causing people to go out on the road at the same time resulting in traffic. There can be so many reasons for the congestion which cannot be necessarily solved by adding bicycle lane.

In conclusion the evidence provided is not sufficient to support the argument. The points mentioned are not valid for each and every individual. The word keen is the main key point which further weakens the argument. There can be so many reasons for the congestion which cannot be necessarily solved by adding bicycle lane.