The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Parkville Daily newspaper.
"Throughout the country last year, as more and more children below the age of nine participated
in youth-league sports, over 40,000 of these young players suffered injuries. When interviewed for
a recent study, youth-league soccer players in several major cities also reported psychological
pressure exerted by coaches and parents to win games. Furthermore, education experts say that
long practice sessions for these sports take away time that could be used for academic activities.
Since the disadvantages outweigh any advantages, we in Parkville should discontinue organized
athletic competition for children under nine."
The letter to the editor of the Parkvelle Daily newspaper advocates for the discontinuation of
organized athletic competition for children under nine. The author argues based on dome facts i.e. it
causes injuries, exerts psychological pressure thus causes harm to voth physical and mental health.
Furthermore the author insists that it has deleterious effect on academic activities too. Though
concerns of the auther is legit, I can't completely agree that these evidences are enough for the
discontinuation of the competition.
Firstly, although the number 40000 represents a large number, no data has been provided which can
assure that this number actually represents a large proportion of the participants. Maybe this
number doesn't represent even one percent of the participants. Another information I would like to
know is about the types of injuries and the ratio of minor and major injuries. Even if the number of
injuries represent a significant proportion of the participants, there is no such proof that those
injuries are more than barely some bruies which is regular occurance in almost every noncompetitive matches too.
Secondly, exertion of psychological pressures by coaches and parents shouldn't be a cause for
discontinuation of a competition. Coaches and parents account for this problem. They should create
friendly environment for inspiring children into sports and they should be made concious about this
fact. There is no information about size and nature of the sample set too.
Moreover, education experts claim of taking time away by practice sessions that could be used for
academic activities is flawed. There is no substantiation presented in the letter supporting the claim
that the time used by practice sessions would be used for academic purposes. It is possible and
common now a days that children are procastinating on video games. So, it is entirely possible that
time allocated for practice sessions may be used for much more harmful activities rather that using
for studies.Even if the education experts concern is substantiated, it is not enough for cancellation of the
organization of the competition. Time of training sessions can be regulated by the authority based
on experts' prescription. It may also possible that most of the institutions only have short sessions.
All the logics relating to the argument presented in the letter may create concern among the
parents. But I would like to have more extensive data relating to the injuries and the nature of the
practice sessions in most of the institutiions. Actually, discontinuation of such competition may
divert children from sports and lead to serious health concerns like obesity. For these reasons, I am
not yet convienced that the competition should be interrupted despite the intimidatiting
informations provided by the author.