The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice for a client. "Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season that region W experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The statement that to fund on Consolidated Industries at first glance seems to be an obvious conclusion. However, there are hole and dubious assumptions under the claim.

To begin with, though climate forecasters predict the weather pattern for several years, but as the climate change is uncontrollable and unpredictable, how can the author warrant the prediction is tenable? Moreover, even the weather pattern will continue for a while, after the pattern ends, the need of heating oil can be eliminated sharply, the investors can possibly lose a lot of funds. The assumption about the weather pattern and thriving future need to be seen.

The other assumption is that as the need of heating oil is rising, the retailers’ profits can increase simultaneously. Nevertheless, it is presumable that there may have more companies to provide heating oil and the customers can buy those products directedly without retailers. The offers can surpass the needs which leads to the decreasing of price. Another outcome is that, with limited offers, the producers of heating oil can increase their price and the retailers are forced to be the defenders of price. This is not a doomed success If the heating oil is popular than before.

As the advance of eco-friendly consciousness and the technology, people may choose not to use heating oil which may cause air pollution. Instead, customers may tend to pursuit supplemented heating commodities that using electricity or other cleaner resources. The population is increasing in the area is not good for the temperature, too. Since more people can produce more exhaust air and can cause the temperature rising which is very common is big cities, if the W region is in basin, the situation will be more salient. In all likelihood, population growth does not relate to more consumption on heating oil.

In sum, with insufficient evidence and supportive data, the future prospects will probably not well because the power of pricing from the producers and the buyers, the heating oil need may be a fad after the pattern ends, and the replaced products with environmental concerns. Thus, the assumptions in the recommendation are unwarranted and leads to the untrustful statement.