The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice to a client.

“Homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last year that region experienced twenty days with below-average temperatures, and local weather forecasters throughout the region predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes have been built in this region during the past year. Because of these developments, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil.”

The writer claims that there will be an increased demand in for heating oil because of the recent below average temperatures of the local weathers.

There doesn’t seem to be clarity on if oil is the only means of heating buildings, perhaps it is one of the major means. There is a gap on information as to what modern methods are been used for heating and if oil to sill been used in contemporary times and not just a vintage peoples thing.

Most importantly, it is unclear if the below average temperature is a matter of hotness or coldness so there is no justification on it there will be need for heating or perhaps cooling as the case may be.

If it is assumed that the below average temperatures meant the increase in temperature (coldeness), the writer also fails to provide certainty of reoccurrence of the below-average temperatures as this might be a one off scenario and not a case for alarm.

Depending on the price of heating oil and other rudimentary concerns, it is unclear if the people will have large demand for oil or will shift to contemporary sources for heating.

Furthermore, it is unclear as to whether the newly built homes factored in the below average temperatures and provided for alternative source of heating and what measures have older inhabitant have put into place.

Moreso, for the writer’s claim to be justified he will have to showcase the relationship between the change in temperature to the direct purchase of oil.