The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice to a client. “Homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last year that region experienced twenty days with below-average temperatures, and local weather forecasters throughout the region predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes have been built in this region during the past year. Because of these developments, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil.”

The argument makes a number of unwarranted assumptions regarding the rise of demand for heating oil for the future based on harsh weather in winter and new homes built in the northeastern United States. These unstated assumptions render the argument highly doubtful. If the assumptions do not hold true, the argument would fall apart.

The argument assumes that weather in winter in the northeastern America region is cold, oil is used for heating there and the forecasters predict this trend will continue for several years. Firstly, the argument does not give any specific information about the share of oil for heating and alternative sources available in the market. If an eligible alternative source of energy could be used in the winter, the demand for the oil would not raise as assumed by the argument. If there are alternative sources of fuel of heating in the market, the proposed investment would be unprofitable or cause loss of some money for the customer.

Another unstated assumption is that new homes built in the region last year could raise the demand for oil for heating without mentioning their number and heating systems. The term used “many homes” does not offer any statistical meaning unless it compares precisely with the previous years. Maybe new homes will have electrical air conditioning units. If the number of homes that need oil is not as high as claimed, another assumption will fail to prove a rise in demand for the substance.

Thus the argument proves to be weak in many aspects. The above discussion shows that the writer could not provide cogent evidence about the expected rise of demand for oil in years to come.