Some people believe that our ever-increasing use of technology significantly reduces our opportunities for human interaction. Other people believe that technology provides us with new and better ways to communicate and connect with

The use of technology is a visible and wide-spread phenomenon that increasingly shapes our daily lives. Concerning its effect on human interaction, while some believe that technology increases human interaction by sharing information, communicating fastly and easily, others state that it decreases human interaction in most cases. I agree with the latter who notify the harmful effect of technology use on human interaction due to its disrupting effect on time/space, banalization of topics to talk among people and lack of attention.

To begin with, individuals could interact with each other by sharing the same time and space. Technology changes this premise by offering the possibility to reach other people who live in great distances. Thus, individuals are not limited to talk only to those are around and to share whatever they have such as thoughts, experiences or expectations. For instance, someone from Istanbul can call his friend in New York City in a couple of seconds. Meanwhile, the same person may not have any conversation with his next-door neighbor. Landline or mobile phones connect us to those who live away rather than people living around.

Another detrimental point is that the content people face on technological devices makes irrelevant many conversational topics and their content such as jokes between friends. Presumably, your friends heard much more funny jokes than what you try to make him laugh. Hence, it is not as easy as imagined to find an interesting topic and content while talking to each other. Additionally, your interlocutor has a very limited level of attention to dedicate to your speech after using excessively tools of technology in his daily life.

It’s worth to mention that those who can not easily interact with people living around could find some other people to compensate for this need of sociality. Such as expatriates, handicappeds or minority members may find better interlocutors living in another city or country.

To conclude, the use of technology decreases human interaction in most cases because of the disruptive effect on time/space, the banalization of topics, and decreased personal attention.