One month ago, all the showerheads on the first five floors of Sunnyside Towers were modified to restrict the water flow to approximately 1/3 of its original force. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. Clearly, restricting water flow throughout all the 20 floors of Sunnyside Towers will increase our profits further.

The argument makes a number of assumptions regarding the saving in water usage after decreasing water pressure on the first five floors of the corporation building. Unless the assumptions will not prove, the argument will fall apart.

The argument assumes that there is a significant saving in water usage without actual reading made. It is not persuasive to prove a water-saving unless reliable data supports how much it is saved comparing to earlier months. Moreover, some residents complained about low water pressure while the writer does not give any precise details.

Another assumption is the rest of the building is convenient to apply similar adjustments in order to save from water consumption. The first issue to consider is that how it is possible to send water up to the twentieth floor if the water pressure would decrease. Probably, residents in some floors could not have potable water due to low water pressure. In order to decrease water consumption in the corporation building, alternative methods could apply.

To conclude, the argument shows unreliable assumptions and insufficient evidence on the efficiency of the technique. Unless the assumptions will not prove, the argument will fall apart.