The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice to a client.

"Homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last year that region experienced 90 days with below-average temperatures, and climate forecasters at Waymarsh University predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes have been built in this region during the past year. Because these developments will certainly result in an increased demand for heating oil, we recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the letter from an investment advisor, it is suggested to invest more in industries associated with retail sales of home heating oil. The author came to this conclusion based on prediction made by the climate forecasters at Waymarsh University that the cold weather patterns will continue for several more years and the increase of new homes in that area. However, before this recommendation can be evaluated, three questions must be answered.

First of all, what is the guarantee that people will continue to keep using oil as fuel for heating? With the booming technology, people might start shifting from heater that use oil to heaters requiring electricity. Certainly, technology advancements has made the price of electricity much cheaper than oil. It is possible that within the next year, most people in the northeastern United States will start shifting to electrical heaters when they see no change in weather patterns as continuing to use oil for heaters might be financially detrimental for them. If the above argument comes true, then the authors suggestion will hold no water.

Secondly, what is the guarantee that people who are building new homes in that region as stated by the author is actually staying in those area throughout the year. Perhaps, people are more inclined to visiting such cold areas during their vacation and they are only building new homes for residency during vacation. If this assumption is true, then the new homes being built will not increase the consumption of oil for heaters by much thus weakening the suggestion from the author.

Lastly, was there any study conducted on how many people are leaving the area and shifting to areas where the weather is more favorable. Due to the weather being egregiously cold, perhaps people will find it more convenient to shift to a warmer region than stay in the cold region. Since studies from climate forecasters suggest that this cold weather pattern will continue in the north eastern United States for several more years , people have started planning on moving to warmer regions , thus decreasing the consumption of oils more. If this assumption is tenable, the original argument of the author will be weakened further.

In conclusion, the argument stated by the author is flawed due to its dependence on many unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to provide answers to the questions stated above and offer more evidence towards his assumptions, his/her argument will be strengthened.