The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author seems pretty adamant while stating that Adams Realty is superior to Fitch Realty. But upon perusing the arguments presented by him/her, it seems that he/she was too quick to jump to the conclusion. There are some baseless assumptions that need further analysis.

First, the author states that Adams is superior because it has more number of employees. This fact is not per se the most convincing. Having a greater number of full-time employees does not justify that they are sincere, or hard-working for that matter. It could be that the employees of Fitch Realty are so diligent that they sate the company's requirements. And working in contingent is generally considered better than working in large groups which may have warring interests. Based on this proposition, it seems plausible that the author had taken some liberties while arriving at the conclusion

The second thing that the authors mentions is the sales figures and while they are decisive, one has to look at the underlying facts. Facts like location of the houses that the two firms list, the kinds of customers the firms deal with etc. These data have not been furnished so the figures themselves are inconclusive. Only when presented with precise details can they yield some cogent result. Maybe the houses that Fitch Realty lists are not in the desirable location, or the houses are not in good condition. It could also be that the agents of Fitch Realty have been able to sell houses in worse condition than those of the Adams Realty, in which case the workers of the former are much more proficient. But this information has not been provided to us so it is difficult to prove.

The author then goes on to state that he/she listed his/her house with Fitch, it took more than four months to sell and when listed with Adams, it took only a month. The author fails to understand that the former was 10 years ago while the latter was only a year ago. This time difference certainly plays an important role in such a drastic difference in the sales number. It could be that 10 years ago the market was down and even Adams Realty would have struggled to sell his/her house. One hypothesis could also be that the author's former house was located in an undesirable area or the house was not in a good condition. These factors, when taken into consideration, further undermine the authors conclusion.

As we can see that many details like nature of the employees, location of the houses, state of the market 10 years ago versus year ago etc. are missing and hence to reach the conclusion that the author so firmly believes would be erroneous. Unless and until the aforementioned facts and details which are imperative to the judgement are provided, one cannot reach any conclusion.