The following appeared in a letter to the school board in the town of Centerville All students should be required to take the driver s education course at Centerville High School In the past two years several accidents in and around Centerville have invol

The author recommends that an effective and mandatory program sponsored by the high school is the only solution to the serious problem of several accidents in and around Centerville. To bolster his claims he has put forward few evidence. One of them is several accidents in and around Centerville have involved teenage drivers. Secondly, since a number of parents in Centerville have complained that they are too busy to teach their teenagers to

drive, some other instruction is necessary to ensure that these teenagers are safe drivers. To consider the argument viable the author has to go through scrupulous discussion and answer the below three questions.

Firstly, the number of accidents involving teenagers is not clearly mentioned. There could be chances that a majority of the accidents are due to rash drivers and adults who are sleepy during driving. There could be heavy traffic and to surpass it they might go really fast in turn leading to more accidents at junction. Many travelers continue their journey during night there could be a chance that Centerville is the middle of the state and everyone passes through it during night driving very fast leading to accidents. If this is considered as a valuable fact the argument would be undermined.

In addition, the teenagers data involved in accidents those are from Centerville is never disclosed. There could be chances that these people are from nearby cities and to meet their friends in college in Centerville they might travel here and unfortunately get involved in an accident. The teenagers from other town might be learning in the open grounds of Centerville to get better in driving due to which they might be involved in accidents during rush hours as they are not proficient yet.

Lastly, the number of parents who are in lack of budget is not mentioned. There could be less number of parents who cannot afford the cost and the remaining others could. So, even if the course if not offered the majority of the teenagers could get a chance to learn driving and get a license instead of waiting for the course to be embedded in the curriculum. The others who are left out could learn from their friends who already becomes pro in driving and avoid the cost bearing.

To conclude, there are several unwarranted assumptions and the argument can be considered tenable only if the author provides further evidence and answers to the above questions. At this point the argument is dubious and almost falls flat with several misleading questions and assumptions.