The following appeared in a magazine article about planning for retirement.

"Clearview should be a top choice for anyone seeking a place to retire because it has spectacular natural beauty and a consistent climate. Another advantage is that housing costs in Clearview have fallen significantly during the past year, and taxes remain lower than those in neighboring towns. Moreover, Clearview's mayor promises many new programs to improve schools, streets, and public services. And best of all, retirees in Clearview can also expect excellent health care as they grow older, since the number of physicians in the area is far greater than the national average."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The magazine’s article suggests that the Clearview town should be a priority for people as a place for retirement. The author provides many advantageous features of the town that can be attractive for retirees such as wonderful natural areas, moderate weather, dropping prices of houses, lower taxes than neighbors, a high number of medical practitioners, and promising programs that includes improving schools, streets, and public services. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, three pieces of evidence must be provided.

First of all, the location of any place does matter. It could be a major factor in deciding the place where someone might want to spend his life. Clearview may be a rural town with bad services such as fluctuating electricity – perhaps it is very far from other cities and towns with no efficient road services or transportations, which make it hard for families to gather at holidays such as Thanks Giving or Christmas. Further, there is a possibility that the town is civilized with high-quality services such as a good internet connection. Thus, since people have different preferences for locations, some might like quiet rural areas, and some prefer a more civilized, the location of Clearview could attract some retirees while driving away the others.

Secondly, the author mentioned the fall in prices for the houses in the past years and the lower taxes. It is possible that even with this reduction in house prices, the cost may still be very high and unaffordable for a big slice of the population. That is also applicable to the taxes. It was mentioned that the taxes in Clearview is lower than in the neighboring towns, which may still be high compared with other choices for retirement place. Further, the living cost can differ even between the adjacent towns, and perhaps it is very expensive to live in Clearview compared with neighboring towns. The argument will significantly strengthen if the approximated costs including housing, taxes, and living costs provided and it was affordable.

Lastly, the great number of physicians may not be an advantage as mentioned it may be a disadvantage for the town. There isn’t any relationship between the number of physicians and the quality of the medical service. However, there is a relationship between the degree of professionality and the quality of the medical service. A great number of medical practitioners may lack experience and just a few are professionals, which will make things worse. Nevertheless, the physicians alone are not enough for a good health service, they must be equipped with proper medical tools, which may not be available at Clearview or might be old and not efficient. If the above is true, then the argument doesn’t hold water.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due to the lack of many details and information. If the author is able to offer more evidences about the above concerns and other unstated, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of Clearview being at the top of choices to settle after retirement.