The following appeared in a memo to the board of directors of Bargain Brand Cereals.

"One year ago we introduced our first product, Bargain Brand breakfast cereal. Our very low prices quickly drew many customers away from the top-selling cereal companies. Although the companies producing the top brands have since tried to compete with us by lowering their prices and although several plan to introduce their own budget brands, not once have we needed to raise our prices to continue making a profit. Given our success in selling cereal, we recommend that Bargain Brand now expand its business and begin marketing other low-priced food products as quickly as possible."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo shown above, the author talks about his super hit breakfast cereal "Bargain Brand breakfast cereal" and how a lower selling price helped them dominate the market even though other top-selling cereals were present. Consequently, the author suggests that given their huge success in the cereal business they should now expand to begin marketing other low-priced food products as quickly as possible. Before the authors recommendation can be properly evaluated, three questions must be answered.

First of all, a major catalyst for their success in the breakfast cereal market was that the top-selling cereal companies were not able to compete with their competitive prices. Not that the other companies did not try but their efforts were in vain. The top companies tried to reduce the prices of their main cereals but failed they also introduced their own line of budget cereals which were also a disaster. As a result, Bargain Brand remained as the most popular choice for everyone. Status quo of other markets might not be the same. Leading companies from that market may very likely fend of competition form Bargain Brand in two ways: 1. they can use their experience to lower prices as much as Bargain Brand, 2. they can use their market influence to push Bargain Brand out entirely. The strength of the author's recommendation cannot be properly judged without the answers of these questions.

Second of all, the author makes an unwarranted assumption that other food products are similar to cereals. Their success in the cereal market as stated above was their competitive price. Other food products may have a very high raw material cost and reducing prices analogous to what they did in the cereal market might not be possible. Furthermore, there might be several logistical costs that are a lot higher when compared to the logistical costs of cereals. All in all, it might be that reducing the manufacturing costs will not be feasible at all as much as it was in the cereal market. So more light needs to be shed on the answers to these questions before we evaluate the credibility of the author's recommendation.

Last of all, the author mentions that due to the unprecedented success of the Bargain Brand breakfast cereal they will move to other food products. This begs the answer to the very serious question of, is this possible with the current funds that they have? Expanding a business to include more products requires a substantial amount of capital and if the author cannot afford that then expanding to other low-priced food product is just not feasible at all. So this question must be answered before it can be decided if we back the author's recommendation or not.

In conclusion, the arguments behind the recommendation, as it is now is highly flawed as they are based on several assumptions. If the author can answer the questions stated above and provide more evidence only then it will possible to evaluate the feasibility of the recommendation.