The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or

disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position

you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific

circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be

advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Having a good sense of what is right and what is wrong is a fundamental aspect that the people of a society must embrace for the community's betterment. Here the prompt suggests that the best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones. Such a stance would entrench the sense of what is right and wrong firmly into a person but there are some inherent pitfalls to this idea which if ignored would be detrimental to a society or country. As a result a moderately agree with the prompt and will be discussing me views in the coming paragraphs.

First of all, children are highly impressionable. If we keep on pointing out their flaws and mistakes and punish them for it, an everlasting fear of failure might stem inside them. To elaborate more on this point, children will more often than not make mistakes as after all they are 'children'. As a result ignoring their mistakes and praising their good deeds along with celebrating all the small to large achievements go a long way in ensuring a healthy upbringing. If we draw examples from the past, most of the serial killers of the early 1900s to late 1900s had a troubled childhood. Most of the serial killers traced the source of their mental degradation to parents incessantly berating them scathing remarks for their mistakes. This very vividly points out the negative aspects of not overlooking the negative actions of children. Thus if we ignore them or look at them with a much kinder outlook the society will be a better place for it's inhabitants.

Furthermore, praising positive actions and ignoring negative ones help promote a much more healthy workplace culture. From most of the surveys relating to mental health at the office; employees most of the time cite an abusive boss as the main reason for them not wanting to come to work every morning. Consequently, an unhappy work force leads to productivity falling drastically. This example further highlights the positive aspect of the policy suggested in the prompt but from a different angle. Furthermore, several companies in Bangladesh realizing this issue has instructed their Human Resource department to organize many seminars with the team leads of different departments to address this. As a result, promote the culture of praising success and ignore or handle with care all the failures at a workplace.

On the contrary, if we look at the perspective of both children and work force. If we do not show them the correct path and keep on ignoring their mistakes as if nothing happened will promote a different message. For example, if any children go out and gets himself/herself involved in a fight and parents act like nothing bad happened and lets it go, the children will be missing out on valuable life lessons. Life lessons that would go a long way in ensuring their life turns out good. This same example can be extended to ignoring mistakes in the work place, which will promote a lazy culture in the office if an employee keeps on getting away with the same mistake again and again.

Thus in conclusion, we can summarize that there are no solid answers to this debate thus we must consider a policy that is neither too harsh on mistakes but not too lenient on mistakes either. But positive must always be praised no matter what the situation is.