The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of

Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared

by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my

recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes

Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their

biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine

proves that Dr. Field’s conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and

thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as

well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is

currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of

child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to

evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or

strengthen the argument.

In the article above Dr. Karp an anthropologist comes to a conclusion that the findings of Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, of the upbringing of children in Tertia to be invalid. Dr. Karp comes to this conclusion via the results of the experiment he conducted. However, before Dr. Karp's evaluation of Dr. Field's conclusion can be judged, three questions must be answered.

First of all, Dr. Field claims that the children in Tertia are reared by an entire village and not just by their biological parents. Dr. Karp argues that from the face to face interviews that he conducted with the children of Tertia, during his own research, spend much more time talking about their biological parents and not about other villagers. Dr. Karp prematurely concludes that if the children are talking more about their biological parents it means that the biological parents were the one involved in raising the child and not other villagers. It can be that the biological parents are someone that everyone looks up to, not just the children and as a result everyone talks about the parents of that particular kid. It can also be that the biological parents have seen unseen influence during the upbringing of their children, for example: they might work day and night to earn money to fund the education of their children. Thus the entire village might have raised the child but the child is ever grateful to their parents for funding their education. As a result, if more light can be shed to answer these questions, Dr. Karp's argument would be more tenable.

Secondly, Dr. Karp assumes that the amount of interviews that he conducted was exhaustive enough to reach his personal conclusion. On the contrary, it can be the case that the sample space on which he did his research was not representative enough to form this overall conclusion that the biological parents were the one's who reared the children and not the villagers. Consequently, we need more information regarding how representative is the sample space is and this will determine whether Dr. karp's argument holds water or not.

Last of all, Dr. Karp also argues that the observation centered research conducted by Dr. Field was not valid. He based this conclusion prematurely thinking that his interview centered approach was more efficacious. This is not enough evidence to conclude that observation centered research is not the way to go to answer such research problems. Dr. Karp could have cited other research where they show why and how interview based research is more accurate than observation based research for similar problems. As a result it is not clear the extent of the validity of such a bold claim.

In conclusion, the argument on which Dr. Karp's conclusions stand is quite weak as of now as they are based on unwarranted assumptions. Thus, if the answers to be above stated questions can be found it will be much more easy to validate Dr. Karp's conclusions of going against Dr. Field's conclusions.