The following appeared in a memo to the board of directors of Bargain Brand Cereals."

"One year ago we introduced our first product, Bargain Brand breakfast cereal. Our very low prices quickly drew many customers away from the top-selling cereal companies. Although the companies producing the top brands have since tried to compete with us by lowering their prices and although several plan to introduce their own budget brands, not once have we needed to raise our prices to continue ** a profit. Given our success in selling cereal, we recommend that Bargain Brand now expand its business and begin marketing other low-priced food products as quickly as possible."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this memo the author claims that the company will continue to make a profit from sales of its cereal, and therefore that the company should expand its bargain-priced product line to include other foods as well. To support these assertions, the memo points out that the company did not raise its prices in the situations that companies producing the top brands lowered their prices to compete with Bargain Brand Cereals and that they introduced their own bargain-priced brands. The argument in the memo, however, is not persuasive as it stands.

First, the mere fact that Bargain Brand Cereals did not raise its prices even though the companies producing top-selling brands does not indicates its continuing success in the cereal market. What really shows instead it is whether its profits are not diminished in that situation. Since if its profits are reduced by competitors with decreased prices, then it could be a signal indicating its failure in the long term. Also, the fact that companies producing top-selling brands lower its prices does not mean that they lowered prices of top-selling cereals. They could lower other products which are irrelevant to Bargain Brand Cereals.

Secondly, the memo also states that it does not lower its prices despite of the introductions of new competitors in budget cereal brands. Yet, this does not mean that it stands out in the market. It is entirely possible that competition in the bargain-priced cereal went on being hotter and hotter and Bargain Brand Cereals’ profits are reduced by the competition. Or, it might be that if the company had raised its price, then it would have lost its market share so that its profits were diminished by doing so more than by newly introduced hot competition in the market. If so, the company’s price policy is not a reliable indicator of its success.

Finally, although the company succeed in the cereal market despite of competition with others, the memo’s conclusion that Bargain Brand Cereals should expand its business and begin marketing other low-priced foods is not persuasive. The author may assume that with lower priced policy it will success in other markets. However, this contradicts our common sense that there are many markets where price is less important than other factors such as qualities of product. If the company begin a business on healthy foods where customers are more sensitive to qualities of products than prices, its lower price strategy would be failed.

In conclusion, on several grounds, the evidence above lends little credible support for memo’s conclusions. To strengthen the argument, the author must show that a strong linkage between the fact that it did not raise prices and its success in the cereal market. To better evaluate the author’s conclusion that Bargain Brand Cereals should expand its line of bargain-priced foods, we would need more information about the market where the company will participate in, specifically, whether the market is price-sensitive or quality-sensitive.