The following appeared in a memo to the board of directors of a company that specializes in the delivery of heating oil.
"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating.
Last heating season, that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern
will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth.
Because of these trends, we can safely predict that this region will experience an increased demand for heating oil during the next five years."
Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain
how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.
The author claims that due to the recent change in the temperatures in the north-eastern United States, where the temperatures are usually cold,
that there is a major consumption of oil used for heating. He also anecdotes the recent temperature changes observed in the for 90 days of the heating season,
in the region, which were below normal temperatures and that the climate forecasters view this change as a predicament to the weather pattern would be
dropping. But the claim made by the author skips on some critical points which would not support his stand.
Firstly, the authour states that most homes in the northeastern states in the unites States are consuming oil as a fuel for heating.
He does not, however, state the percentage of the people that use the other resources for heating like wood and electronic heaters which would
make the claim weaker. The majority of them maybe just two to three percent of above average use of all the other materials. He doesn't provide
adequate evidence to support his claim statistically.
Secondly, it's been mentioned that the region had experienced below-normal temperatures in 90 days of last heating season. He neglected
to considering the fact that this might have been an effect of a sudden storm which might have caused the temperatures to drop by a few degrees.
This is also rather confusing as to whether the climate forcasters predictions could be true because of the variability of the degrees might
have been observed continuosly, which would support the above theory of the consequence of a storm , or they might have occured on random days of the season.
Thirdly, they also believe that the number of houses being built in the region is increasing as a result of rising population. But this is only
supporting the claim if the houses being built are by the people not only moving into this region but also by the citizens already in the region
on account of their houses being damaged or just because of the real estate becoming cheaper. The population that increased in the region might be
a result of the real estate of this region being cheaper than the remaining states.
Lastly, the author's stand of the increase of the population reflects the increase in the demand of heating oil is a bold claim as it solely depends
on the kind of people that moved into the region. They could be from far colder regions of the world which would make the regions colder temperatures
a new normal for them. This also supports the fact that the kind of houses being built by the people might have higher insulation built-in so
as to reduce their costs of buying heating supplies like oil. This is a thready claim at best.
To summarize, the stand of the author of the increase in demand of heating oil during the next five years is confusing and lacks thereof the statistical
evidence needed for me to believe this to be true. He needs to further research into the statistical details of the region, in the areas of real estate,
nationality of the people that moved in, among other things to convince me in his claim.